Practical guide to
travel to Liepāja (Latvia)

People have different purposes for travelling. Some travel to acquire new knowledge, others - to start a business, but most - to enjoy a vocation. Latvia is one of the European Union's (EU) member states and, if you are an EU citizen and want to relax, you can go to Liepāja with only your passport or ID card. Citizens from other countries outside the EU may have a slightly more complicated entry, but in order to make it easier, we have put together all the necessary steps for you to enjoy some time here.

See you in Liepāja!

Find out about the visa requirements by clicking on the country which citizenship you own or find more below in the tables.
List of countries citizens of which may enter the Republic of Latvia without a visa and stay in Latvia for up to 90 days within a six-month period, counting from the day of entry
Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia (Hrvatska) Cyprus
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland
Italy Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland
United Kingdom
List of countries and territorial authorities citizens of which do not require a visa
in accordance with Council Regulation
United States Canada Albania Andorra Antigua and/or Barbuda
Argentina Australia Bahamas Barbados Bosnia and Herzegovina
Brazil Brunei Darussalam Chile Costa Rica El Salvador
Guatemala Honduras Hong Kong Israel Japan
Korea, Republic of Macedonia Malaysia Mauritius Mexico
Moldova Monaco Montenegro New Zealand Nicaragua
Panama Paraguay Saint Kitts and Nevis San Marino Serbia
Seychelles Singapore Taiwan, Republic of China Uruguay Vatican City State
Categories of persons who are exempt from the visa requirement: British Nationals (Overseas); holders of British subjects passports; Recognized refugees, stateless persons and other persons without a citizenship, who permanently reside in one of the EU member state and who hold a travel document issued by this member state (except Great Britain and Ireland)
There are countries with the facilitation of the issuance of visas like
Albania Armenia Bosnia and Herzegovina Georgia Macedonia
Moldova Montenegro Russian Federation Serbia Ukraine
Reasons to enter the Republic of Latvia
Studies D Type visa. Learn more
Before packing your bags you should pass these 3 steps:
Apply to the University
Pass the addmission process
University will apply for invitation
After that you should fill the residence permit application which should contain:
Apply for visa
Obtain Health Insurance policy and pack your bags
Business D Type visa. Learn more
You should fill the residence permit application which should contain:
Apply for visa
Obtain Health Insurance policy and pack your bags
Tourism C Type visa. Learn more

Prior to entry into Latvia a visa shall be obtained at Latvian consular missions in foreign countries or at the consulates of other Schengen Member States which is competent to process Schengen visa application for travelling to Latvia or Travel Agencies
To obtain visa your visa application should contain:
* All information provided as part of this infographics is intended to be informative. For detailed infomation visit:

This material is created with the European fund for the integration of third country nationals financial support.
Liepaja municipal institution “Culture Department” is responsible for the content of the material.